Mel’s Midweek Writing Menagerie #2

Before we get to the prompts for this week, I wanted to share the entries from round one; both of which can be found at Featured Fiction.

Dolly from daydreams by dolly, wrote ‘Where Angels Fear to Tread:

Only a fool would rush in where others fear to tread – it turns out I’m a fool.

A big one.

Oh, who am I kidding, this is a disaster of epic proportions and my name will forever be synonymous with “idiot” and “sucker”. I pull a little at the hair framing the sides of my face in an effort to get back on task.

Ouch. That was way more painful then I thought it would be. Why the heck does Margie do that when she needs to calm down?! It just makes it harder to concentrate, if you ask me. Read more.

Colleen from Silver Threading, wrote ‘A Foggy Morning at Fairy Swamp:

The fog curled and draped around the trees and bushes. It was hot, around 80 degrees F. at 6 a.m. I don’t know if I was hot and sweating or if the fog made me wet, but I was dripping. I looked into the far side of the swamp and saw this dark corridor beckoning me. ‘Only a fool would rush in where others fear to tread – it turns out I’m a fool.’ Read more.


The rules of the challenge are simple. I’ve provided two options below, and there’s a handy link-up button at the end of the post, so you can upload your contribution and share it with others. If you prefer to use the pingback method, I’ll check out each link I receive. If you want to use the hashtag, it’s #MelsWritingMenagerie.

All you have to do is grab the badge and write a post based on either prompt. Here they are:

Mel's Midweek Writing Menagerie


Option 1: Sentence Starter – ‘Darkness fell like a shroud, an inky black so complete it vibrated with discontent; for it wasn’t the night that hunted us, but something far worse.’

This sentence can be used anywhere in the story. The maximum word count is 1,000 words. The genre can be any of your choosing; either factual or fiction based. You may use art to interpret the sentence, or poetry if you wish.


Option 2: Fanfiction – Take at least two characters (you may have a group), from different literary works and put them in the following situation:

The chosen characters are in a bar. A bomb explodes in a building across the street, and the explosion shatters the glass of the bar, injuring several people. How do the characters react? Do they work together? Flee the scene? Investigate the explosion? Continue drinking their ale? You decide.

Have fun!

Thanks for stopping by.

Mel

11 thoughts on “Mel’s Midweek Writing Menagerie #2

I'd love to hear from you.