Freestyle Writing Challenge – Dreamscape

I’d like to thank Colleen from Silver Threading for choosing me to participate in the Freestyle Writing Challenge, in which I had to:

“Describe your perfect fantasy world so that we all want to live there.”

I’m not sure what fantasy world I’m describing exactly, but I followed the challenge and this is what I got…

Cassandra stepped through the archway and closed her eyes for a moment, just long enough to appreciate the colour when her lids popped back open and she took in the glorious shades of the ocean. This was a gift from the great god Oceanus, a place as infinite as the sea; with creatures so wondrous and varied it took an eternity to study them.

She ran towards the cresting water, let the foam dance between her bare toes, and laughed as she dove beneath the waves. Her body followed the instincts she had been born with, diving deep until she came to the tavern that time forgot. The moment her head breached the surface she knew this was the place she had been dreaming of her whole life.

A hand reached out to steady her, warm and strong; her guide along this path she had chosen. The earth was surprisingly warm. A rich bronze, which shone like gold and extended as far as her eyes could see.

There were secrets within the rock; stories as old as time itself. They awaited discovery, begged to be touched. But she didn’t dally. She was too aware of her companion’s curious gaze. Knew what awaited them.

As she strolled the path paved with sand of the finest hew, she felt the energy of all those who had come before. All those who lived here still. The cavern expanded as she walked, foliage appearing like flowers beneath the sun. The trees stretched to the heavens, their branches reaching out to touch; to welcome her as she passed. Leaves kissed her skin, as gentle as a caress. They reminded her she was home.

Lights danced before her eyes; they lit the world around her. Each colour bled into the next; reds and greens, oranges and blues. A splendorous rainbow her mind could process only because of the magic beneath her feet. She was anchored to the realm, connected as she had never been before. She knew if she closed her eyes she could conjure a different city at every turn, meet a traveller with each growing mile, and oh what stories she would have to tell.

15 minutes – 361 words.

I would like to challenge the following five bloggers to participate in the challenge: Callum McLaughlin, Winter Bayne, Hannah Givens, Robin Rivera, Heather Jackson, and Charles Yallowitz.

These are the rules:

1. Open an MS Word Document

2. Set a stopwatch or your mobile phone timer to 5, 10, or 15 minutes, whichever challenge you think you can beat.

3. Your topic is at the foot of this post BUT DO NOT SCROLL DOWN TO SEE IT UNTIL YOU ARE READY WITH YOUR TIMER!!!

4. Fill the word doc with as many words as you want. Once you start writing do not stop.

5. Do not cheat by going back and correcting spelling and grammar using spell check (it’s only meant for you to reflect on your own control of sensible thought flow and for you to reflect on your ability to write the right spelling and stick to grammar rules).

6. You may or may not pay attention to punctuation or capitals. However, if you do, it would be best.

7. At the end of your post write down ‘No. of words = ____” so that we would have an idea of how much you can write within the time frame.

8. Do not forget to copy paste the entire passage on your blog post with a new topic for your nominees and copy paste these rules with your nomination (at least five (5) bloggers).

My new topic for you to write about is:

The world as we know it has ceased to exist. Describe this new reality.

Thanks for stopping by.

Mel

23 thoughts on “Freestyle Writing Challenge – Dreamscape

  1. Mel, thanks so much for jumping in on this challenge. I loved your world! This sounds like the beginning of something great. I want more. ❤

    1. Thanks so much, Colleen. I’m really glad you liked it. I’ve never worked to a timer before, so for the first two minutes I sat looking at the screen and thinking…ah oh! It was a great experience, so thanks again for thinking of me ❤

    1. Thank you. That’s lovely to hear 🙂 I panicked a little at that part of the challenge! My brain literally froze for two minutes and then I shook it off and got with the typing. It’s a new kind of pressure – working to a clock!

      1. I’m interested to see how I’ll cope with the time pressure as well – thank you for tagging me by the way! 🙂

        I’m also curious to know what topic you’ve come up with but I’m playing by the rules and waiting until I’m ready to write 😉

  2. What a great read. I am always amazed by how productive the lack of time makes us. My mom actually used a similar timer method to make me do my math homework in primary school and not drag it all through the day.
    This seems like a fun challenge, I’ll definitely check out what your nominees will be writing 🙂

    1. Thanks. And you’re absolutely right about how productive a little pressure makes us! I go to pieces when the clock is ticking. I’ve taken plenty of timed tests and I seem to have a moment of blind panic, and then I just get on with it! It was really fun 😀

      1. I tend to put myself under face pressure (for uni papers that I had to do in the past, well I fixed an earlier deadline than the official one, as something might always come up, it always worked), but without a deadline, well nothing really works.

  3. Interesting assignment! I may have to appropriate that as a morning exercise. 🙂 Wonderful world building… hard not to love things based around the ocean!

I'd love to hear from you.